Welder Wanted

halimark

Just got my next project, looking to upgrade welder. I have seen the welders on here and know what you are capable off, I am not that experienced, looking to build bumpers, armor, SAS on next Toy. Currently have cutting torch, 110 mig and 220 stick. Think this would be a good time to get that 220 wire feed. After some research I think the Millermatic 190 may be what I need, for now and future welding needs. Anyone have any leads on the Millermatic 190? I did see KMS has them coming on sale for $1259. Looking for info on recommendations and better price?

Thanks

HM

I thought about the 190 but went for the 211. Picked it up at kms for 1399 on boxing day. Im not an experienced welder but it was nice to see full penetration on 3/8 plate i was playing with. I think at that thickness the duty cycle becomes very important.

Might be worth going into barry hamel or western gasco and seeing what they can do for you. Face to face conversations always yield me a better price than a phone call. Ex rentals from ready ark are a good option as well.

i run a miller autoset 212. no complaintsbut sometimes wonder if i should have gone for the 252 but only because i want to weld aluminum

i run a miller autoset 212. no complaintsbut sometimes wonder if i should have gone for the 252 but only because i want to weld aluminum
I weld aluminum with my 211. Got the 150 spool gun. Works great.

I have the millermatic 180 with the 100 spoolgun. Works well, but I'd go with the miller 211/212 with the 150 spoolgun if I had to do it again. Saying that, the 18o work well for everything I've needed it for so far....

Am I correct, I think the 190 is the newer version? With the 150 spool gun it also does aluminum? Wish the miller site had the Cabelas "compare" function. So confusing, I have a couple days before sale to figure out.

HM

I'm pretty happy with my Miller 252 and spoolmate set-up. It's nice to have lots of power for thicker material.