2017 Victoria and Oak Bay Reports

AP spoons are incredibly effective on Springs.
I have been using them almost exclusively for the last 3 years
with great results.

What leader lengths are you using with these spoons ?

I was out Mon 12-4 off the waterfront using anchovies and did drop an AP spoon for a bit but fell back to the skunk that I'm more used to. Not one hit.
Only saw one other boat with a fish he released at side of boat. Almost got run over by a Comm boat coming out of the harbour, had to make an line tangling manoeuvre to save my butt.:-( thinking he was on auto pilot and not at the helm.

Guys,

When I was out on Constance late last week, there were two charters out there. They were doing very well on springs, right on the bottom. I timed them dropping their gear and retrieving it, and I figured they were fishing right on the bottom. One guy actually dropped his gear and I could see him wait until it bounced on the bottom and then he came up just a bit. When I saw the gear come up, there was no flasher either dummy or in-line. I could not see what the terminal gear was, but there was a 4-5 foot leader behind a small shiny (plastic or metallic) rectangle that was maybe 4-5 inches long. It was too small to be a 8" mini-flasher, and definitely wasn't a 11" flasher. I have no idea what these guides were using, but it looked fun as hell to catch these fish on. Does anyone have any ideas what their setup might have been?

Could be a Hook-em spoon ?

Hookum_Spoon_MoonJelly.jpg