help with weather forecasts.? water conditions?

saddlemaker

As a rookie I am planning on a couple of days of fishing... Sandheads .. looking at this weeks forecasts . how do they usually relate to water conditions.. Which days would you plan toward?

Today Tonight and Monday. Wind northwest 15 to 20 knots diminishing to northwest 10 to 15 Monday afternoon and to light Monday evening.
Tuesday Wind light becoming northwest 10 to 15 knots in the afternoon.
Wednesday Wind light becoming southeast 10 to 15 knots.
Thursday Wind northwest 5 to 15 knots becoming southeast 5 to 15 late in the day.

Thinking monday later day and then Tues.

I appreciate any insight.. boat is a 19 'with closed cuddy
Thanks Andy

Last edited:
My general rule of thumb is that 15 kt is where is starts to become uncomfortable for most, and northwest wind is worse than southeast. That's where you get proper whitecaps and it holds up for pretty much any boat under 25'. If you are hardcore and don't mind bobbing around you could push it, but you'll be feeling it by the end of the day. 10 - 15 kt is usually ok, 15 - 20 kt is getting boarder line.

Take a look at Fishweather before you go out (either on their website or through their phone app) - it will give you the current (i.e. within 1 hr) conditions. Also look back at the history of the relevant buoys (Sandheads and Halibut Bank) - if it has been windy for a while it will take some time for the waves to lie down - and the forecast going forward.

Also keep an eye on the tides - an outgoing tide against the prevailing wind is a recipe for rough water. Coming out of the North Arm into a NW wind or the South Arm into a westerly can get hairy fast.

Your plan looks good as long as the wind has started to die down to 15 or under on Monday afternoon.