Smoked salmon brown sugar/course salt ratio?

I'm new to smoking. I've tried twice at the cabin so far in the Little Chief that is up there. The first time wasn't edible. This past weekend turned out much better, but it was a little too smokey for me as we had Hickory and Mesquite chips up there that seem to be more suited for beef or pork. I'll pick up some Alderwood for the next batch.

Quick question --> Clint's calls his brine a "dry brine" but the fish is clearly in a brown soupy mix. What constitutes a dry brine if that is not a wet brine? I thought dry brine would be just salt/sugar and no water.

hey Corey, that liquid is what's been pulled out of the fish by the salt/sugar mix. Starts off dry but turns into a liquid fairly quickly. Don't forget to take the fish out and stir up brine half way through the brining time. Then fish back in and continue brining til done.

hey Corey, that liquid is what's been pulled out of the fish by the salt/sugar mix. Starts off dry but turns into a liquid fairly quickly. Don't forget to take the fish out and stir up brine half way through the brining time. Then fish back in and continue brining til done.

If you can't find alder, apple is another option, I have mixed alder and apple.
Cherry is mild also and gives a nice mellow flavour

I find that if you simply use a salt to sugar ratio that you end up with salty fish. You need to remember to factor in the amount of fish you plan to smoke as well. Using a cup of salt to 4 of sugar and dumping in 5 lbs of strips or fillets is going to result in salty fish.

A dry mix will draw out the moisture from the fish and turn into a soupy mix after a few hours.

Thanks Clint. That makes sense. I would have never guessed that so much liquid can be pulled from the fish. Very interesting. Some recipes ask for a lot of water.