Power Mooching

SSwilson92

Hey all,

I am fairly new to saltwater fishing and I will mostly be fishing around the "Sandheads" area. I have played fish with a big flasher before and it is very different from what I am used to in the rivers and with light fly gear on lakes. Some people have told be power mooching in shallow water can be effective and that there is more feel for the fish. Does anyone have any advice on one of these setups and should i be bouncing right off bottom or just kind of winging the depth? Thanks!

Rig up a dummy flasher and just go naked off the downriggers with your herring or chovie in a teaser head. The sandheads will be a busy spot when it opens and you will be moving a whole lot slower than the rest of the pack if you are cut plugging or power mooching. If you are going to do this I would suggest going off the north arm where things are way less busy.

My best spring caught locally was done with naked chovie - very fun

Rig up a dummy flasher and just go naked off the downriggers with your herring or chovie in a teaser head. The sandheads will be a busy spot when it opens and you will be moving a whole lot slower than the rest of the pack if you are cut plugging or power mooching. If you are going to do this I would suggest going off the north arm where things are way less busy.

My best spring caught locally was done with naked chovie - very fun

Never even thought of running a Dummie flasher off the rigger but I guess my bait will be far enough back from the flasher not to interfere. Sweet! Thanks for the heads up. Yea It gets pretty packed out there when they're in thick and I'm sure ill be running the downriggers when everyone's bootin around at mach 10. Far cry from wind drifting in a tinner :p