2017 Nootka Sound/Esperanza Inlet Reports

15 dollars launch and 15 dollars a night protected and $10 for the road or 150 for a year pass-not sure on the year pass whether the parking is protected or not but am sure of everything else.

Thanks Spring Fever.

Saw a pretty hot report elsewhere by Gary Cooper, looked like maybe Bajo. Can anyone confirm?

On Social Media it looked like he hit some good numbers of fish with the Riverquest Charters crew. If the picture was accurate maybe Bajo.

Reactions: abl
On Social Media it looked like he hit some good numbers of fish with the Riverquest Charters crew. If the picture was accurate maybe Bajo.

I would never dispute anybody who had a good turn of luck but don't get your hopes up!! I have been fishing Nootka for over 20 years and indeed wrote the Nootka article for salmon university .com and I have never seen it so sparse for this early in July. There is a reason that great guides like the Codfather are showing large catches of bottom fish--because the amount of effort to catch salmon last week was soul destroying!! Will they come?? who knows but historically they usually round the corner at the monument between the 1st to the 15th of July. I am hearing of a few more fish in Esperanza than off-shore Nootka so perhaps this is another year to hit Strange Island/Canal island up to the Tahsis narrows first!! All I am saying is- have realistic expectations , don't spend all your time in one spot, fish bottom fish as well ,'try well outside the moaning buoy and get creative--whether we like it or not our waters are changing--the fish are too--try deeper than you normally fish. Enjoy the scenery, your friends and the experience and the blessing of being able to get out while you still can. Fishing is not about body count and I think we are all going to have to get used to that going forward!! My 2 cents and Tight lines to you all.