Where the fish are at this season.

Anyone have any guesses as to bright spots on the island that may be good fishing this season.

Most of what I've read for forecasts on the west coast so far (American fish) sounds pretty poor. No sockeye retention proposed for Alberni inlet. Are there any bright spots in this year's island forecasts I've missed.

Are you planning on trying a new location this year for holidays. What does your intuition tell you about the better spots to fish on the island this summer?

I don't have any secret spots for you , but I'm planning to explore new area (for me) at Winter Harbour planing to leave my boat for two months over there .
Any tips where to start chasing spring salmon and halibut?

I've never done winter harbour before. My boat has spent a bit of time up there as my cousin who I got the boat off of liked going up there. Hopefully others will give you some tips. I didn't follow the WH thread that carefully last season, but it sounded better than a lot of other places last summer. Good luck.

Ok .. here is something, let science help you improve you chances.

What makes fish vulnerable to capture by hooks? A conceptual framework and a review of key determinants

Abstract