Im fixin to get a new smoker: Advice wanted.

i use a true north as well. does the cardboard box trick not work for you? i punched a hole through the door and insert
a temp gauge and just adj the box to let heat in or out.

i use a true north as well. does the cardboard box trick not work for you? i punched a hole through the door and insert
a temp gauge and just adj the box to let heat in or out.

Oh ya. I have always covered them with the box with some holes in it. I have always cold smoked in them as well just by leaving the door open somewhat and checking the temp.

I have been using a Bradley for the past 12 years--it works for me but does have its drawbacks. I've got a 22 lb pork shoulder that I'm smoking right now, finishing it off in the oven. With that cold NE today the box temp didn't get over 100F so after 4 hours of smoke I put it in the oven to get the heat. The Bradley element doesn't have enough oomph to get up to 210 to do the job.

T2

Last edited:
build one.. not that hard to do and works great i got inspiration from Nog love mine and it works great and i use real alder have a hard time paying for wood when its right here FREE....Sorry dont know why it wen sideways View attachment 30709

thats sweet, love the bacon picts!!

i find smoking is a bit of a chore in the little chief, never enough room for a decent sized batch to make it worth the time/prep/ cleanup imo....
I end up doing 2-3 batches, and still have problems getting it hot enough for peperoni, casings get soggy

also the best way ive found to make wood chips is to use the jointer (or a surface planer)

IMG_0748.JPG My chipper and lots of alder on the property!
You want chips when I'm around pick a nice red alder and we can fill a pail or two.
Does about 100 fpm so pretty quick.

Last edited:
Ha!!! That's awesome... Just heads up to people in the Parksville area.. If you wanted to try a Bradley before you bought one or just need one a few times a year.. The Tool Shed has one they rent..