How Many Times Have You Been Stopped By DFO.

casper5280

Crew Member
Just out of interest how many times have you been stopped by DFO or anyone for that matter? I've been fishing for about 40 years and have been stopped 5 times, and the last time was about 25+ years ago. It was a DFO guy and a RCMP guy on a zodiac in Bamfield Harbour. We had no fish and the DFO guy was more concerned that the guy I was with as native and had a valid status card and started to tell him he needed a fishing license. Which he does not.
So in my case I get stopped on average every 8 years or every 25+ years. Which ever way you look at it. Every 3 years the first 15 years and then nothing for the next 25. I fish on average 30 to 40 days a year, and in the boat a lot more then that. Definitely luck of enforcement as we all know.
I was almost in a stop once in Beacher Bay and there was a great check there. DFO, RCMP, and Canadian Power Squadron. CPS was doing free checks on your boat to make sure you had all your gear. RCMP watching for DUI's, and DFO checking your fish. All real low key and friendly, perfect timing just after lunch when most guys are coming in.
DFO was right on the dock when guys were coming in, CPS checking your boats once they were on the trailer, and RCMP just watching the whole thing.
CPS gave you a sticker for your boat if you passed so you didn't need to be checked again.
This is the kind of enforcement we need, anyway just like to hear others comments on this. Thanks