2016 Nootka Sound/Esperanza Inlet Fishing Reports

WTF?????? History has been made folks. Thursday night was the first time in Hx that I've been at the Lodge guiding when 8 boats go out for the evening fish and came back skunked.

That was a total of 165 years of guiding experience fishing that night by the way between the 8 guides.

Now that is not just skunked when some of the boys come back telling a tail of woe as a guest clamps on the knuckle buster and SNAP. Or one of the other stories that get told back at the dock by a guide that gets skunked and it was not his fault. I am talking about NOT ONE #$&@*(^$@#% bite ALL night.

I seen 150 boats that night trolling and two fish that I saw hit the deck. They must have been snagged from what I saw that night.

Soooooooooooooooooo for those of you that say Nootka has 100,000K of fish coming back this year and it will be a record year WHEN.

I have been guiding in Nootka for 28 years and have done fairly well but have never seen fishing this SLOW.

I know and hope it will get better as I have a new group starting tonight and finally get to offshore because of the wind the last two weeks so I'll keep you posted.

Sorry for the rant but after 34 days out here it's been a struggle.

Mike

I will be at critter cove for the first time starting on the 11th. Looks like the weather is going to be good. Hope some fish show up.
Really looking forward to it

Yeah CF I feel your pain- I've fished Nootka many times a year for the last 20 years and I too have never seen it so bad. WH has had a terrible year for Springs as well so I don't think it is just Nootka. If they are late this last rain should move them in ----if not??? By the way the water is very brown and dirty off-shore- not only at Nootka but also Winter Harbour-I wonder if there is any connection?? Just a thought-maybe a hope?