Now what???

Chum4chum

Hello all, I am new to Island living and just purchased an old boat recently....I'm scouring the forums for information. It sounds like the Springs are close to done, the Cohos are starting, and the Chum will follow.
What other species or runs are there to look forward to for the coming winter months? I'm hoping there's some great winter fishing! I haven't gotten a Spring yet and it seems that fishing for coho is a lot the same but maybe shallower? I'm excited to hook a cod or even a halibut....
I hear crabbing is good once the dead salmon are floating down the river...
Any tips on what you're looking forward to?
Thanks!

For me its now hunting season. Fishing takes a back seat. Should be some nice winter spring fishing starting late Nov?

HM

Welcome to SFBC Chum! Whereabouts do you live? I launch out of Sidney and am very much looking forward to coho in a couple weeks.
My tips for coho are:
- Faster trolling speed (3-3.5mph)
- More erratic action lures (increased spoon bend, faster bait roll and/or shorter leaders).
- Stronger colours (less green/glow, more orange and shiny)
- Deeper water. Off Sooke, for example, I have had my best luck in 400-500' of water along a tideline. Downrigger depth varies of course, but 65-100 should do the trick most days (just watch your fishfinder). Also have had pretty good success running a diving bass lure behind the boat about 30 feet.

Hopefully that's enough to get you started! Ask around at the boat launches for more area-specific advice. We're (mostly) quite friendly! :D

Welcome to SFBC Chum! Whereabouts do you live? I launch out of Sidney and am very much looking forward to coho in a couple weeks.
My tips for coho are:
- Faster trolling speed (3-3.5mph)
- More erratic action lures (increased spoon bend, faster bait roll and/or shorter leaders).
- Stronger colours (less green/glow, more orange and shiny)