Gulf Islands 2014 Reports

A little late but was out at the bluffs on Saturday. A couple of sox, a wild coho and lost a spring to a broken hook. Saw a handful of sox caught and a spring netter. Lots of bait.

Hi guys - I'm a newb to the site and novice fisherman. The moniker is pretty much wishful thinking, however I did a couple seasons as a deckhand on a commie boat years ago. I've trolled the site from time to time and thought I'd start to participate, especially to say thanks for the updates and fishing tips. I was out at the bluffs on Monday and a few guys around me were pulling in some fish, looked like sox. Or maybe the hoots and hollers meant springs. IDK. All I could muster was a small coho. My rig isn't exactly a fishing boat (Ciera 2455); I troll with the main, and currently only run 1 downrigger. Fishing is mostly something to keep me occupied while the wife enjoys the cruise and sun.

We had some fun at the bluffs last year loading up on pinks - just using slip weights. Used the same technique in Rivers Inlet last week and did well on coho. Maybe I should just stick to that......
I'm adding another rigger this weekend and am going to give the bluffs another try. Any tips for springs there? I don't think I can troll slow enough to entice any of the sockeye. Watching everyone else pull their nets out beside me can sure get a fellow frustrated LoL I'll add my 2 cents whenever I can. Good Luck to all & thanks again. SS

Slammin' - you can probably slow your troll down considerably with a drift sock off of both sides of the bow (the cheaper version is 1 or 2 five gallon buckets). That may get you down to sockeye speeds.

Slammin, I have the same boat as you, get the extra down rigger on, extra dummy flashers, you should be getting some sox, I had no problem in Johnstone Straight last week

Thanks guys - I just tied up some more gear & I'm going to try all of that. I'll post results. Cheers! SS