Tales From The Tyee Pool........2017...

Sunday evening and just back from a go-out with a couple of young gals name of Diane and Sharon.

I'd had Diane out once before but Sharon was a complete newby so required some basic instructions before we ventured forth, which I carried out as we motored away from our mooring spot.

Despite a bad omen start wherein my outboard nearly came off the boat as we were turning sharply to retrieve my lifejacket which somehow chose to remain on the dock after we'd left for the Pool, we eventually made it out and started fishing.

I had both of my Shovelnose plugs on, my older Lucky Louie and my new to me original Minser, recently received as a gift from a pal and most welcome as it made up the pair.

We worked our way back and forth a few times, exchanging pleasantries with the other rowers as we encountered them plus we performed a couple of weed checks which was interesting as Sharon has fairly short arms, which makes catching the line difficult with a weight swinging on it and she seemed a bit taken aback by the whole routine, even though it's not that complicated.

My impression was that she didn't really expect to get a strike so didn't feel a sense of urgency about getting things done quickly or getting the plug back out as fast as possible, but no big deal for me as I'm all-too-aware of how one can just get caught up in the whole experience and, having heard about how few strikes there are, wander away from the actual task at hand.

This played a big factor in what happened at about 9:10 PM as Diane got a strike which she nailed really well. Being on the port side of the boat she had to hold the rod butt-backwards, the bane of being on that side, so I quickly reminded her to switch hand position as I hauled away on the oars with the speed and vigor that would have made Bruce Aikman proud of me.